Menu
  Where we work

A diverse team with global reach

The Climate Centre head office is at the Netherlands Red Cross in The Hague, but our staff are based all over the world, actively linking with local and global partners. This allows us to be agile, connected to what is happening on the ground, and to bring diverse perspectives to our team and our work.

In 2020 we worked with a total of 80 Red Cross Red Crescent National Societies around the world, and with stakeholders of all kinds in nearly 120 countries. Our international engagement included 11 UN agencies and at least 50 academic institutions, a good proportion of them in the global South. At least 32 nationalities are repesented on our highly diverse team.

Climate Centre Head Office
Climate Centre Staff
Countries we currently work in

Our regional focal points

Africa
Shaban Mawanda (mawanda@climatecentre.org)

North and East Africa: Shaban Mawanda (mawanda@climatecentre.org)

West Africa: Cheikh Kane (kane@climatecentre.org)

Southern Africa: Bettina Koelle (koelle@climatecentre.org)

Middle East
Shaban Mawanda (mawanda@climatecentre.org)

Asia and the Pacific
Madhab Uprety (uprety@climatecentre.org)

Europe
Margot Curl (curl@climatecentre.org)

Americas
Juan Bazo (bazo@climatecentre.org)

Caribbean
Keisha Sandy (sandy@climatecentre.org)

An IFRC resource

The Climate Centre was established in 2002 by the Netherlands Red Cross (NLRC) and the IFRC, and is hosted by the NLRC in The Hague as a Public Benefit Organization (Algemeen Nut Beogende Instelling) under Dutch law.

Our overarching mission is to help the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and its partners reduce the impacts of climate change and extreme-weather events on vulnerable people. We contributed to the IFRC Framework for Climate Action Towards 2020 (two-page summaries available in English, French and Spanish), and the 2020 Movement Ambitions to Address the Climate Crisis.

The Climate Centre is one of six global refererence centres hosted by National Societies, along with other regional and National Society centres, all delegated by the IFRC as centres of excellence in their specialist areas.